Apply for a Grant

2021 Grant Application

The 2021 application is now open.  The deadline is 1/15/2021.


Download an application template for Microsoft Word.

New applicant?

If you are new to our grant system, please visit our new applicants page to set up your account.

Frequently Asked Questions

The Maddox Fund offers extensive information about our interest areas and priorities on our FAQ page. It is beneficial to read the FAQ before submitting an application. If you have questions after reading the FAQ, feel free to call the office at 615-385-1006 or email our staff. An appointment is not needed for a phone conversation; we are happy to talk with you.

Required Budget Form

Because your profile is up-to-date, the Maddox Fund only needs one form in addition to your narrative proposal.  Please download the budget form, complete, and upload into the online system.

Budget Workshops

The Maddox Fund will offer budget workshops for nonprofits wanting clarification on budget issues. We encourage new applicants to attend a workshop, but it is not required. We will be offering budget workshops on:

  • November 18th, 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM
  • December 15th, 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM
  • January 6th, 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM

A video tutorial will be available if you are not able to attend one of the sessions.

Giving Matters

Maddox grant reviewers will often use Giving Matters for additional information on your organization. For questions about Giving Matters, visit our FAQ page.  If this is a barrier for your organization, please contact Maddox staff.

Giving Matters logo


We invest in efforts that focus on or support the following:

Where we invest

The Dan and Margaret Maddox Fund serves 41 counties of Middle Tennessee listed below. Programs must operate within this geographic area.

Bedford, Cannon, Cheatham, Clay, Coffee, Davidson, Dekalb, Dickson, Fentress, Franklin, Giles, Grundy, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Lawrence, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Maury, Montgomery, Moore, Overton, Perry, Pickett, Putnam, Robertson, Rutherford, Sequatche, Smith, Jackson, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Van Buren, Warren, Wayne, White, and Williamson